All 4 Democratic Indian-American Lawmakers Of ‘Samosa Caucus’ Re-Elected

| |

All 4 Democratic Indian-American Lawmakers Of 'Samosa Caucus' Re-Elected To US House of Representatives

Raja Krishnamoorthi coined the casual time period “samosa caucus” for Indian-American lawmakers


In a formidable present, all of the 4 Indian-American Democratic lawmakers – Dr Ami Bera, Pramila Jayapal, Ro Khanna and Raja Krishnamoorthi – have been re-elected to the US Home of Representatives.

The Indian-American neighborhood has emerged as a drive to reckon with for the primary time within the historical past of the US presidential election. Each the Democrat and the Republican campaigns had initiated a number of measures to woo the roughly 1.8 million members of the neighborhood who’ve emerged as a crucial voting bloc within the battleground states of Florida, Georgia, Michigan, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and Texas.

The so-called ‘Samosa caucus’, a termed coined by Raja Krishnamoorthi for casual grouping of Indian-American lawmakers, may increase with at the least another as doctor Dr Hiral Tipirneni was main in opposition to Republican incumbent David Schweikert from the sixth Congressional district of Arizona when final studies got here in.

If elected, Hiral Tipirneni, 52, could be the second ever Indian-American lady to be elected to the Home of Representatives. Jayapal, 55, was the primary Indian-American lady to be elected to the Home of Representatives in 2016.

The ‘Samosa caucus’ presently contains 5 Indian-American lawmakers, together with the 4 members of the Home of Representatives and Senator and Democratic vice presidential nominee Kamala Harris, 56.

Raja Krishnamoorthi, 47, simply defeated Preston Nelson, 30, of the Libertarian Get together. When final studies got here in, he had accounted for almost 71 per cent of the overall votes counted.

Ro Khanna, 44, simply defeated fellow Indian-American Ritesh Tandon, 48, of the Republican Get together with a margin of greater than 50 share factors. This was his third-consecutive win from the seventeenth Congressional district of California.


Dr Ami Bera, 55, the senior most member of the ‘Samosa Caucus’, received the seventh Congressional District of California for the fifth consecutive time period. When the final report got here in, he had established an inaccessible lead by greater than 25 share factors in opposition to his Republican rival 65-year-old Buzz Patterson.

In the meantime, Democratic candidate Sri Preston Kulkarni, 42, misplaced to his Republican rival Troy Nehls, 52, a well-liked sheriff and navy veteran endorsed by President Donald Trump, within the twenty second Congressional district of Texas.

Republican Manga Anantatmula misplaced to Democratic incumbent Gerry Connolly within the eleventh Congressional District of Virginia. Republican Nisha Sharma from the Republican Get together additionally misplaced her maiden Congressional try. She was defeated by incumbent Mark DeSaulnier from the Democratic Get together by greater than 50 share factors.

The Home of Representatives is the decrease home of the US Congress, with the Senate being the higher home.

(Apart from the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV workers and is revealed from a syndicated feed.)


As Donald Trump Protests, US Cities Fear Unrest That Election Night Spared Them

Saudi Arabia Removes Controversial Restrictions On Foreign Workers


Leave a Comment