Feroz Shah Kotla cricket stadium has changed its name to Arun Jaitley, former union minister and president of the Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA), who died last month. The name change of the stadium was done to honor the leader who served as president of the DDCA from 1999 to 2013. In the same function held at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium Weightlifting Auditorium, a position in the famous cricket site of Delhi He was named after the captain of India Virat Kohli. However, the name of Feroz Shah Kotla’s land will remain unchanged.

The Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA) renamed the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium as the Arun Jaitley Stadium in a name change ceremony that took place at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium on Thursday.

Bishan Singh Bedi and Mohinder Amarnath are the other two players from Delhi who have names after their names, but the honor came after their retreats.

The Minister of Interior of the Union, Amit Shah, was the main guest for the show, where a new pavilion in the stadium was also dedicated to the patron of India Virat Kohli, to recognize his outstanding achievements in the field of cricket.

Kohli is the youngest active cricketer to receive the honor of a position that bears his name. “Virat Kohli’s outstanding contribution to world cricket has made DDCA proud. We are happy to honor him for achieving certain milestones and an unbeatable captaincy record,” DDCA president Rajat Sharma said in a statement.

The District Cricket Association (DDCA) had announced its decision on August 27, in a dignified tribute to the late union minister, who breathed for the last time at the age of 66 after a prolonged illness on August 24. However, the DDCA confirmed that the land will continue to be called Feroz Shah Kotla.

Jaitley, during his tenure at DDCA, is credited with renovating the stadium in a modern facility, increasing his ability to accommodate more fans in addition to building world-class locker rooms.

Speaking about this initiative, the president of DDCA, Rajat Sharma, said: “It was the support and encouragement of Arun Jaitley that players like Virat Kohli, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Ashish Nehra, Rishabh Pant and many others could make India proud. “.

Sports Minister Kiren Rijuju and members of Jaitley’s family were also present at the function to commemorate Jaitley’s fascinating contributions as former president of DDCA in cricket and cricket player careers.

“When I decided to name a position in honor of Virat Kohli, I told Arun Jaitley ji first. He told me that this is a good decision because there is no better player than Virat in world cricket,” Rajat Sharma said during the event. .


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here